McWilliam’s Wines Call for Nominations: 2014 Maurice O’Shea Award

Maurice O'Shea


McWilliam’s Wines is pleased to announce the 2014 McWilliam’s Maurice O’Shea Award Event will be held in Adelaide on Wednesday, 1 October 2014.

The Maurice O’Shea Award Dinner will be held in conjunction with the Winemakers’ Federation of Australia’s Wine Outlook Conference.

We are now inviting nominations for the McWilliam’s Maurice O’Shea Award from across the industry.

The McWilliam’s Maurice O’Shea Award recognises an individual, brand, activity, association, institute or corporation which has made a historically significant contribution to the Australian Wine Industry. As the McWilliam’s Maurice O’Shea Award is not an award that simply recognises industry service, we ask that nominations are made based on the above criteria, with historically significant achievements that have benefited the entire industry.

We invite you to make up to three nominations and outline the achievements of each, and ask that nominations are kept confidential.
Previous winners

• The Australian Screwcap Initiative (2012)
• Philip Laffer (2010)
• Dr John Gladstones (2008)
• Dr Ray Beckwith (2006)
• Guenter Prass AM (2004)
• Australian Wine Research Institute (2002)
• Dr Wolf Blass AM (2000)
• Dr Bryce Rankine AM (1998)
• Brian Croser AO (1997)
• Hazel Murphy AM (1996)
• James Halliday (1995)
• Jacob’s Creek (1994)
• David Wynn AO (1993)
• Ron Potter (1992)
• Len Evans, OBE AO (1991)
• Max Schubert AM (1990)


It would be greatly appreciated if nominations could be provided by Friday, 1 August 2014 via post or email

To find out more about the event, you can visit this link or buy tickets here.
We look forward to receiving your response.


Back to Blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *